The problem with keyword triggered ad-placement and senseless idiots in Tanzania

by

According to a well written article by Norway’s (according to me best) web paper Aftenposten Albinos in Tanzania are being murdered and used for luck bringing tokens. Leader of the Tanzanian Albino Association, Zihada Msembo is quoted saying: “They chop us up like chickens”. This  leaves me feeling sad and slightly nautious. What really made me twitch was when I saw what the keyword triggered advertising on the page was trying to sell me; “Freshly grilled chicken”.

I can understand why such a system might be beneficial, but maybe it should work with tags rather than words in the text, I can imagine a couple of scenarios where this system would pick the completely wrong advertising. I choose to think that this is not the result of advertisers intentions, but of a system that needs improving.

If you want to learn more about what is happening in Tanzania, read this article by Reuters.

I hope the Tanzanian government succeed in stopping these senseless attacks!

tanzania-killings

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “The problem with keyword triggered ad-placement and senseless idiots in Tanzania”

  1. ultramagnus79 Says:

    Funny, but so wrong!

  2. Melvær Says:

    Its really sick and shocking, I would be surprised if Ultra (the advertiser) is very happy about it.

  3. GareBoave Says:

    nice, really nice!

Leave a Reply

