Landline? Forget it!

by

Almost 18% of the United States homes today are relying on mobile phones only (Reuters). In Brazil, this percentage made a whopping jump from 7.8% in 2001 to 27.8% in 2006 (UOL).

In my opinion, mobile is the future. With my handset (no, I don’t have an iPhone) I can keep my blogs, twitter, facebook, linkedin, orkut, gtalk, msn messenger and emails up-to-date. I can access websites. I can take pictures and upload them straight to my flickr account, or to my twitter (and share it instantly with all my friends). I can’t get lost (GPS rules!) and I also can make phone calls (almost forget it).

With all this information just few clicks away, it’s obvious that people is spending less time doing other things (and spending more time updating their digital lives). The challenge is: how to make advertising in a world where people don’t have 10 seconds to click on a banner,  30 sec to sit in front of a tv, or 2 minutes to navigate through an inexpressive website? How to create advertising that creates time for us, instead of stealing it?

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “Landline? Forget it!”

  1. finbarrm Says:

    Having just acquired a T Mobile G1 (with Android TM) and having all the above for the first time (and all my contacts linked in to the phone thru a google mail account) I would have to agree. I rarely use a landline anyway as I, like most others I would have thought, get so many free texts and minutes with my tie in contract.

    I think this will be the year when the mobile web finally becomes what its been threatening to be for years… very very popular.

    Landlines are for losers

  2. dannyroca Says:

    But, you’re a geek! I think the survey shows more about the cost of maintaining a landline and a mobile.

    With dongles and ridiculous call/text times on cheap phone plans its economically viable to live without a landline without missing out on anything.

    The adoption of data services on mobiles is still relatively slow (according to a TGI survey only 14% of adults regularly use 3G phones – Bluetoothing is more popular). But it is looking to increase as more and more phones are able to make the web look as it would on your PC or Mac, due, in part, to the popularity of the iPhone’s large screen.

    It’d be interesting to see how netbooks and the latest Blackberries affect things but you’re right, brands should follow the Japanese model and create useful mobile apps and services (rather than iBeer…).

  3. Denise Neves Santos Says:

    14% can not be an impressive percentage, but if you want to target 18+ upper-middle-class geeks, in my opinion, mobile is the best way of doing it…

  4. Melvær Says:

    There might be some very dangerous illnesses lurking in the mobile future. I talked to a lady who works for the Radiation Board (Strålevernet) in Norway, and she said some quite scary things about over exposure to wireless what-nots, apparently more and more people are having serious reactions to them and the service providers are claiming all these people are faking their illnesses..
    Sounds like the mobile-phone companies might be the tobacco industry of the future.

  5. Denise Neves Santos Says:

    I don’t know, I don’t know… How can you prove that your illness was caused by mobile usage? We are exposed to all kinds of waves everyday: tv, radio, satellites, mobile, wireless internet, bluetooth………………………….. I don’t like this “American way” of blaming companies (or anything else) for your problems.

    It remembers me this bizarre Guardian article: http://www.guardian.co.uk/environment/2008/dec/09/oil-business-climate-change-flooding

Leave a Reply

